A day in Oxford

About 15 years ago, in high school, I did a summer program at Magdalen College, Oxford, and, curious about whether or not it had changed, I decided to go back to look at Oxford again.  I arrived in Oxford around 9:30 and went to the Ashmolean Museum, before it got too crowded. The Ashmolean has an incredible collection of art and sculpture from around the world, stretching back thousands of years. After lunch at the Covered Market on High Street, I went to Magdalen College to look about, but I found that it wouldn’t open to visitors until 1:00.

So I went in search of the dorm I stayed in while I was a temporary student here (we lived outside of the college proper); I couldn’t remember the exact site, but I think I found it, down a side street a few blocks away. Then, I went to the Bodleian Library to kill the time, passing the Bridge of Sighs and the Radcliffe Camera.

I didn’t go into the library, but got a good look at the courtyard.

At 1:00, I returned to Magdalen and wandered around the courtyard and grounds for about 45 minutes; visitors aren’t allowed to go up staircases or into the dining room, or any other areas marked as private. Founded in 1458, Magdalen’s alumni include Cardinal Wolsey, Oscar Wilde, and C.S. Lewis, and the college’s architecture is a mixture of styles. Not much about the college has truly changed since the last time I was here. But Magdalen is really one of the most beautiful out of all of Oxford colleges!

Behind the college, runs a stream, next to which is a deer park.

After my tour of Magdalen, I went for a browse in Blackwell’s bookshop, stopping to view the Sheldonian theater next door, and took the train home in the late afternoon.

sheldonian

The day promised to be rainy throughout, but we never experience much more than a sprinkling here and there.

Today I’m working again to make up for lost time, but I have further travel plans coming up in a few days. Until next time–

–KH

Leave a Reply

